Word for Wednesday #2

IMG_3026

I was a bit stuck for a word this week. I’ve been a bit stuck for words pretty much all of this week. When I was walking the youngest to school on Monday I noticed the leaves had started falling, yesterday there were even a few crisp enough to crunch under our feet. There I found my inspiration! And as today is the autumn equinox, the official start of autumn, I thought it was an appropriate Word for Wednesday.

Autumn

au¦tumn

  1. Chiefly British The season after summer and before winter, in the northern hemisphere from September to November and in the southern hemisphere from March to May:
  1. Astronomy The period from the autumn equinox to the winter solstice.

Autumn has always been my favourite time of year. The nights drawing in, getting home after school, a bowl of soup and the fire on. Mists in the early morning, the piles of leaves to be kicked and crunched through and trying to find the best conkers. (I was delighted to find horse chestnut trees in Killarney). I think that is one thing I really miss about England, those delicious, crisp autumn days, before it gets really cold.

One of the quirks of living on the Atlantic coast in this part of Kerry means it rarely gets that cold. We have the occasional frost, a bit of hail and the odd flurry of snow, further inland and on the hills can be a different story. But the next day it could easily be warm enough to wear a t-shirt. We can also have the same weather in the middle of summer! Go figure. But generally autumn just means more rain, with the odd sunny and warm period. Another thing I still can’t get used to is that even though we’re in the same time zone as England there’s roughly 45 minutes difference. Maybe it’s because I’m from the south-east of England, or maybe it’s just me, but it doesn’t seem to get dark as early. I’ve been here for nearly fifteen years, you think I’d be used to it by now. While I’m writing it’s half seven in the evening and it’s still light out, it does mean darker mornings though.

So here I am, it’s almost the end of September, the place is filled by palm trees, the fuschia (South America), and Monbretia (Southern Africa) still in bloom, longing for frosty mornings and leaves to crunch under my feet.

flowers

3 thoughts on “Word for Wednesday #2

  1. My favourite time of year too… The colours and the way the light changes is beautiful.
    You are lucky to live where you do, it sounds lovely and mild. Unlike here where we get bad frost and snow. We had to defrost the washing machine with hair dryers one winter!
    Thanks for joining in again cherry!
    Kat x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

