Word for Wednesday #4

IMG_3026

This is the post I originally wrote for last week.

I found this week’s word while I was trying to find something new to read that wasn’t erotica. I’d bought ‘Revival’ by Stephen King and the book is dedicated to some of the writers who inspired him. So I went looking online, I read ‘The Great God Pan’ by Arthur Machen and I realised I’d never read any H. P. Lovecraft. Another search and I found hplovecraft.com where Lovecraft’s fiction is available to read. I started with ‘The Call of Cthulu’ (where else?), and came across this:

‘After vigintillions of years great Cthulhu was loose again, and ravening for delight.’

Vigintillions:

  1. (USand British) a large number equal to 1063
  2. a large number equal to 10120 in older British English and in Continental European and Latin American countries

“These names of periods of figures, derived from the Latin numerals, may be continued without end. They are as follows, for twenty periods, viz. Units, Millions, Billions, Trillions, Quatrillions, Quintillions, Sextillions, Septillions, Octillions, Nonillions, Decillions, Undecillions, Duodecillions, Tredecillions, Quatuordecillions, Quindecillions, Sexdecillions, Septendecillions, Octodecillions, Novemdecillions, Vigintillions.”

http://www.worldwidewords.org/weirdwords/ww-vin2.htm

I have a thing about numbers, well, not numbers as such, but patterns. Prime numbers, Fibonacci numbers, the Infinity Hotel, anything like that. I never thought I was very good with numbers as I always seemed to struggle at school – I got through five years of secondary school without doing any maths at all (scary teacher!) and it came as a pleasant surprise to find out I was actually damn good at maths, passing both exams I took with Distinctions. I don’t know how well I’d do now with the bits I don’t use but I now have much more confidence in my abilities and I love looking for the patterns 🙂

14 thoughts on “Word for Wednesday #4

Leave a Reply

