Word for Wednesday #7 & #8

IMG_3026

I have two words this week. The first one I used during my daily game of Scrabble with Sir. Not many points and it’s not really in keeping with our usual habit of trying to find smutty words but it was too good to pass up.

Scrabble

Harpy – In Ancient Greek and Roman mythology Harpies were monsters with bird bodies and women’s faces. They were often portrayed as vicious, punishing wrong-doers and carrying people away. Of course now it’s another word to describe women, the Urban Dictionary definition: A word to describe a women who draws a man into her grasp by pleasing the victims biggest desire only to destroy all that makes him what he is.

Which brings me to another word I really like the sound of – Harridan –  but I’m not so keen on the definition: Strict, bossy or belligerent old woman.

Is it just me or do there seem to be way more bad words about women than men?

Click for more Words for Wednesday.

17 thoughts on “Word for Wednesday #7 & #8

      1. That’s the problem, even the bad ones make men sound good!
        I’m thinking of looking for insulting ones, not necessarily sexually degrading, and going back through history. Should be a bit of fun anyway 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course. I’ll have to go digging over the next few days 🙂 I think it’s really going to have to be historical, Shakespeare probably had some good ones 🙂 And there must be a fair few slang ones. I’m thing tosser, prick, dickhead etc. lots of good Anglo-Saxon words 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think so. I’ve done a bit of digging around and found some funny ones – bedswerver (adulterer) and fopdoodle. It’s cheered me up anyway 🙂 I think I’m going to have a lot of fun with this! And I’ll get to learn some more insults 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

