Words

IMG_3026

Word For Wednesday #19

My word for this week is Vocabulary. Warning – this post gets a bit crude towards the end.

From the website vocabulary.com – First used in the 1500s to mean a list of words with explanations, the noun vocabulary came to refer to the “range of language of a person or group” about two hundred years later. A lot of hobbies, like fishing or knitting, require that you learn their unique vocabulary before you can get the most out of them.

Vocabulary – A language user’s knowledge of words, a listing of the words used in some enterprises, the system of techniques or symbols serving as a means of expression (as in arts or crafts)

I even love the sound of this word 😀

According to some people I have a very large vocabulary, I don’t know how many words I know, I can’t say I’ve ever tried to count them. But when it comes to crosswords and other word games I’m rarely lost for words.

I’ve always been a reader and I’ve always loved to learn about new things – whether it’s a creative hobby or an academic subject – and pretty much everything comes with its own new set of words to learn. Just a quick example – crochet – there is a difference between English terms and American terms – double crochet in an English pattern is single crochet in an American pattern – so when I was learning to crochet I had to learn two sets of words.

And then there’s the way words, and the way they are put together can change their meaning over time, words that are no longer used and the introduction of new words – reading a modern novel is very different to reading something from a couple of hundred years ago. More words to learn in the context of which they are used.

I love words, but right now, no matter how extensive my vocabulary, all I can think of are the short, nasty, dirty ones.

Lick, suck, fuck, slut, bite, slap, pinch, hurt, belt, spank, whore, fucktoy, yes, no, stop, Sir, please, good girl. You get the idea.

Click for more Words for Wednesday

10 thoughts on “Words

  1. Great words!

    Yes we do learn new words and increase our vocabulary as we learn new skills! It happened when I studied psychology, counselling, gardening and since I’ve embraced kink and bdsm my lexicon has grown quite a bit!

    Great points in this post Dawn!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

