Contemplating My Navel*

IMG_3026

Word For Wednesday # 20

My word for this week

Cogitate – To think deeply on a subject.

This is a word I use when I’m in that state of mind where I’m thinking about something when I’m not thinking about it. If I have a story idea, a blog topic or something like that I’m thinking about it in the background, behind everything else that I’m thinking about.

My brain works in a weird way, it can be working away on several different levels. There are the immediate thoughts – what I’m doing right then, such as now when I’m writing. Then are secondary thoughts – dinner, if I need shopping etc. Then third is cogitating – working way back on things, long term thoughts. There is a level even deeper than that, the compost heap – this is my brain working away by itself – when the answer to that question someone asked months ago pops into your head, like who was in that film, the crossword answer, or how to solve a plot problem in something I got stuck on a year ago. I know I can’t be the only one who does this, tell me I’m not weird.

*My dad uses this to describe someone thinking about nothing 😀

Click for more Wednesday Words

2 thoughts on “Contemplating My Navel*

  1. You are not alone, that background wheel spinning is something I often do. Random thoughts you didn’t realise you were having come back to the front of your mind often.

    For me this is not always a good thing, but it’s great for quizzes

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

