Making Choices

Word For Wednesday #26

W4W

A bit of a ranty one today 😀

My word for this week is Autonomy.

  1. The quality or state of being self-governing;especially the right ofself-government
  2. Self-directing freedom and especially moral independence
  3. A self-governing state

Related to autonomy

Synonyms: accord, free will, choice, self-determination, volition, will.

I’m particularly interested in the second definition – Self-directing freedom and especially moral independence. And the synonyms – choice, self-determination and free will.

This post has been a while in the fermenting and writing stage, I’m still not entirely sure what it is that I want to say so please bear with me.

Over the past few weeks I’ve become increasingly fed up with reading articles and blog posts which try and tell me I’m a bad person for being a sex blogger, for posting naked photos and for having been in a BDSM relationship. I have read that I’m letting women down, I’m not a feminist, I must have something wrong with me, I must have a history of abuse or I have been brainwashed by men because no woman could possibly enjoy the things that I enjoy. That I cannot possibly be choosing to do this.

Towel 2

Taking photos, posting them and writing are things I choose to do.

And there’s also the slut-shaming, body-shaming and just general trollish nastiness some people have to put up with. Thankfully I haven’t yet had to deal with it, but no doubt at some point someone, somewhere will object to me. From Kim Kardashian’s naked selfie, Zoella’s ‘racy’ photo (she was wearing clothes FFS) to Holly Brockwell’s experience of wanting to be sterilised. It is nice to see that even if there are a lot of stupid, judgemental people out there, there is also a lot of support for these and other women.

But the double standards about what it’s OK to do are ridiculous.

And do you know what I have to say about that?

BOLLOCKS!

I’m also fed up of the general shit so many people have to put up with if they don’t fit society’s norms.

I’m going to be writing a series of posts on these subjects and a couple of other issues, in particular the treatment of women in Ireland, because they are things that are making me angry. I can’t cover everything in one post – it would be far too long and confusing.

More Word For Wednesday here.

9 thoughts on “Making Choices

  1. I will tell you, what I tell my son (he’s 5 1/2 ) “There are 7 billion people on this planet, so that’s 7 billion ways to live your life. As long as no one is being hurt, be who you are and do what makes you happy”

    So if anyone is giving you S**t on here, look at the nearest empty space for all the F**Ks you need to give.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

