One or More?

Food For Thought Friday #30

Monogamy – do you think it is our natural inclination?

Are you in a monogamous relationship or do you live a polyamorous life?

If you are monogamous, is it by choice? Do you find it easy or is it a struggle?

I think some of us are more suited to monogamy than others. If your partner fulfils all your needs then maybe there’s no desire to look for anyone else, but if you need something that your partner either can’t or won’t provide that’s where the problems can start. In a lot of conventional relationships that sort of things can cause huge upset, which is why communication and honesty is so important. Society still seems to expect you to have one partner for life, and for some people talking about sex and anything else besides buying houses or having kids is still difficult, especially in some places, although things are so much better than when I was younger.

All the relationships I’ve had have been monogamous, I don’t ever remember making a conscious decision to be monogamous, that’s just the way things worked out. I’ve never actually been in a situation where I’ve had the opportunity to have more than one regular partner, so I can’t really say if it’s something I could do. I tend to get too clingy. Maybe it would be better if I had two or three partners. I have had a couple of times since moving here when I’ve been seeing more than one guy, but I wouldn’t classify any of them as relationships, it just seems to be the way here. If you’re both out you get together, if not, you find someone else.

With my ex I found it difficult to be monogamous but that’s more because I wanted out of the relationship as none of my needs were being met. I just didn’t know how to get out of it.

I think it all comes down to the people involved. If you’re happy with one person, good for you, if you’re happy with more and everyone involved is open with each other that’s good too. I think the world needs more happiness.

More Food For Thought here.

4 thoughts on “One or More?

  1. Cannot argue with your final point love! Very true.
    Interesting that you didn’t make a conscious decision to be monogamous – I think that applies to most of really. It’s just the norm isn’t it? It’s what we just do. I’m like you in that I get very attached and I would probably struggle with sharing a partner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure how happy people REALLY are in polyamorous (is that the right word?) relationships. In an old fashioned way I think it works for men. Women, I don’t know, I am not sure we’re built for sharing.
    Call me conservative, but I don’t like the idea of a man I like being with another woman.
    And it doesn’t have to be marriage, wedding dresses, blah blah boring, but – commitment.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

